Collection: Virginia

The state of Virginia, more properly the Commonwealth of Virginia, often called "Old Dominion," was admitted to the Union June 25, 1788. She seceded on April 17, 1861. Richmond, VA became the capitol of the Confederacy, and the state saw the most battles of any during the Civil War. Her motto is Sic semper tyrannis, or, "Thus always to tyrants."